Day Date Holiday Comments
Saturday January 26 Republic Day
Monday March 04 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Thursday March 21 Holi
Monday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday April 06 1st Navratra Jammu and Kashmir only
Sunday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday April 14 Vaisakhi several states
Wednesday April 17 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Sunday May 19 Buddha Purnima Birth of Buddha
Friday May 31 Jumat-ul-Wida Last Friday of Ramadam
Wednesday June 05 Idul Fitr Many states
Friday July 05 Guru Hargobind Ji’s Birthday Jammu and Kashmir
Saturday July 13 Martyr’s Day Jammu and Kashmir only
Monday August 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Thursday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 23 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Tuesday September 10 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Wednesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 08 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 27 Deewali Deepawali. Except Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal.
Monday November 11 Guru Nanak Birthday The Birthday of the founder of Sikhism, falls on full moon day of the month Kartik
Thursday December 05 Birthday of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah Jammu and Kashmir
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states